Favorite Croatian Island? (Korcula, Croatia)

Croatia may not be the tourist destination that France, Italy and Spain are, but I would put money on the fact that it will be someday. This tiny country has vineyards, forests, history, beautiful old cities and 327 miles of coastline. Not to mention the islands. Oh the islands. Every year thousands of water enthusiasts flock to the Adriatic to island-hop down the rocky Croatian coastline, and many of them do so in luxury yachts. Luckily for us common folk who do not have access to luxury yachts, there are dozens of ferries a day leaving from the mainland and making their way to islands ranging from posh Hvar to basically uninhabited Mljet, and everything in between. Last year Logan and I made it to one of these Islands, Vis, and had one of our best days of the four-month trip zipping around the island on a rented scooter, taking in the beautiful sights.

Zipping around Vis last Spring

Zipping around Vis last Spring

The island of Korcula went on and off our itinerary at every phase of drafting and re-drafting. Beaches? Check. Vineyards? Check. Beautiful cobbled old town? Check. The problem? Time and tourists. In the end Logan and I could not justify visiting this island over the more secluded and less touristy island of Vis, and we didn’t really have the time to do both. Luckily for me, less than a year later I was planning another trip to Croatia and Korcula was quickly added to the list of destinations that mom and I would be visiting. My solution to our previous problem? More time and a day trip to a less touristy island.

Who could resist a beach like that?

Who could resist a beach like that?

I wrote about our first (highly uneventful) day on Korcula in my last post and I will write about our second day (in which we day trip to the island of Mljet) in my next post, so fast-forwarding to day three on the island you will find mom and I renting a car and exploring. We drove most of the main roads on Korcula and were able to see basically all the towns. Along the way we stopped at a few beaches, sampled some delicious wine and stopped for a seafood dinner.

Blato, Korcula, Croatia

Blato, Korcula, Croatia

Beach time

Beach time

If I were to recommend one island (of the three I have been to) to first time Croatia visitors I would wholeheartedly recommend Korcula. The Old Town is charming, there is great food and wine and the beaches are beautiful. On top of that, there are great ferry connections going both north to Split and south to Dubrovnik. Renting a car is a must, as many of the most beautiful beaches are not accessible by bus. Furthermore, if you are a wine lover a car is essential to get you around to the countless vineyards that dot the countryside.

IMG_0876

I was sad to leave our beautiful apartment on the spectacular island of Korcula, but Dubrovnik was calling and my first new country of the trip was right around the corner.

Goodbye, Korcula!

Goodbye, Korcula!

One thought on “Favorite Croatian Island? (Korcula, Croatia)

  1. Looks so beautiful! I’ll be curious to see your comparison of this setting to your Greek destinations.

Leave a Reply

